Colorado State Science Fair, Inc.

Follow Us!
Follow us on Facebook!Get Linked in with CSEF!


The 47th Colorado Science and Engineering Fair was held at Lory Student Center on the Colorado State University campus on April 11 - 13, 2002.

This year, CSEF winners were chosen from among 259 projects represented by 289 finalists from 85 schools and 12 regions within the state. More than 110 professional scientists, engineers and mathematicians interviewed the students and evaluated their projects before selecting the Grand Award winners. In addition, over 50 businesses, professional societies, and government agencies provided more than 100 of their own representatives to judge exhibits based on their own criteria. They judged the student finalists and conferred Special Awards which represented an aspect of the bestowing organization. These included college scholarships, offers of summer employment, field trips, cash, savings bonds, and calculators. Over 1,000 people attended the Awards Ceremony this year.

Scholarships from Adams State College (ASC), Colorado School of Mines (CSM) and Colorado State University (CSU) were also presented. Adams State College awarded nine one-year full resident tuition and fees scholarships. The Colorado School of Mines awarded four four-year full resident tuition scholarships. Colorado State University awarded ten one-year, non-renewable $1,000 scholarships to the top senior division individual category winners and three one-year, nonrenewable $1,500 scholarships to the senior division All Fair winners. The Intel Foundation also awarded a $2,000 scholarship to a twelfth grader in the name of Ryan Patterson (Intel ISEF top winner in 2001) for use at the college or university of their choice.

The 2002 Colorado Science and Engineering Fair had 30 sponsors. Sponsors included 2 Platinum Sponsors (providing over $2,500 of support), 13 Gold Sponsors ($1,000 - $2,500 of support each), 1 Silver Sponsor ($750 - $1,000 of support each), and 14 Regular Sponsors ($500 - $750 of support each). In addition, there were 15 Financial Contributors (less than $500 each). In addition, several individuals donated through the Denver Combined Federal Campaign. Persons interested in supporting the CSEF financially should view the sponsorship/contributor guidelines.

This year, the CSEF was honored to have guest speaker, Nobel Laureate, Dr. Carl Wieman. Dr. Wieman is a Distinguished Professor of Physics at the University of Colorado in Boulder, CO. He is also a Fellow of JILA, an institute operated jointly by the University of Colorado and the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Carl Wieman and Eric Cornell

Dr. Wieman is the recipient of a myriad of scientific awards, but is most noted for his "Bose-Einstein Condensation: Quantum weirdness at the lowest temperature in the universe" research for which he received the Nobel Prize in 2001. In addition to his research activities, Wieman has been involved in innovations in science education, and has given many presentations to high school classes and general audiences. Currently he is a member of the National Task Force on Undergraduate Physics Revitalization. He is also and elected member of the National Academy of Sciences Board on Physics and Astronomy and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.


The top three Senior Division project exhibitors won an all-expense paid trip to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair held in Louisville, KY May 12 - 18, 2002. First place went to Craig Wright, Woodlin School in Woodrow, grade 10, for the project Designing a Linear Peristaltic Pump Using Ferrofluids. Second place went to Josh Haimes, Boulder High School in Boulder, grade 12, for the project WGA Amplification and Thin Film Detection of Methicillin Resistant/Sensitive Staphylococcus aureus. Third place went to Aaron Burgess and Kristen Rasmussen, Fairview High School in Boulder, grade 11, for their project Aircraft Icing: Why Does It Happen?

The winner of the Ralph F. Desch Memorial Technical Writing Award was Adam Curry from Palisade High School in Palisade, grade 12, for the project The Cosmic Early Warning.

The winner of the Senior Division Student Choice Award was Brandon Rosgen , Pagosa Springs High School in Pagosa Springs, grade 11, for the project River Banks - Nature's Erodible Boundaries. The Junior Division Student Choice winner was Meredith MacGregor, Burbank Middle School in Boulder, grade 7, for the project Avalanche! A Search for Self-Organized Criticality.

The winner of the Poster Art Contest was Lauren Goulding, Palmer High School in Colorado Springs.

See the complete list of CSEF Grand Award winners, Special Award winners, and Scholarship winners or print an official 2002 Press Release.

Copyright Colorado State Science Fair, Inc. All rights reserved.
Last modified 10/24/16