Colorado State Science Fair, Inc.

Follow Us!
Follow us on Facebook!Get Linked in with CSEF!


The 49th Colorado Science and Engineering Fair was held at Lory Student Center on the Colorado State University campus on April 8 - 10, 2004.

This year, CSEF winners were chosen from among 284 projects represented by 313 finalists from 113 schools and 13 regions within the state. More than 100 professional scientists, engineers and mathematicians interviewed the students and evaluated their projects before selecting the Grand Award winners. In addition, over 40 businesses, professional societies, and government agencies provided more than 100 of their own representatives to judge exhibits based on their own criteria. They judged the student finalists and conferred Special Awards which represented an aspect of the bestowing organization. These included college scholarships, offers of summer employment, field trips, cash, savings bonds, and calculators. Over 1,000 people attended the Awards Ceremony this year.

Scholarships from Adams State College (ASC), Colorado School of Mines (CSM) and University of Colorado - Boulder were also presented. Adams State College awarded ten one-year full resident tuition and fees scholarships. The Colorado School of Mines awarded five four-year full resident tuition scholarships. The University of Colorado - Boulder awarded four one-year scholarships ranging in value from $1,000 to full tuition. The Intel Foundation also awarded a $2,000 scholarship to a twelfth grader in the name of Ryan Patterson (Intel ISEF top winner in 2001) for use at the college or university of their choice.

The 2004 Colorado Science and Engineering Fair had 20 sponsors. Sponsors included 4 Platinum Sponsors (providing over $2,500 of support), 7 Gold Sponsors ($1,000 - $2,500 of support each), 1 Silver Sponsors ($750 - $1,000 of support each), and 8 Regular Sponsors ($500 - $750 of support each). In addition, there were 8 Financial Contributors (less than $500 each). Also, several individuals donated through the Denver Combined Federal Campaign. Persons interested in supporting the CSEF financially should view the sponsorship/contributor guidelines.

This year, the CSEF was honored to have guest speaker, Mr. Richard Foch. Mr. Foch is the head of the Vehicle Research Section in the Offboard Countermeasures (OCM) branch of the US Naval Research Laboratory (NRL). Since joining NRL in 1985, Mr. Foch has overseen such projects as the Low Altitude/Airspeed Unmanned Research Aircraft, the Flying Radar Target ATD, the Self-Navigating Drone, Expendable/Reconerable, and the Navy's Micro Tactical Expendable micro air vehicle.

Mr. Foch's personal interests also lie in the areas of aviation as he earned his pilot's license in 1976, has been involved in the design and construction of several home built general aviation aircraft and is an avid enthusiast of radio controlled model airplanes.


The top two individual Senior Division project exhibitors and the top team Senior Division project exhibitors won an all-expense paid trip to compete in the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair in Portland, OR May 9 - 15, 2004. First place went to Balaji Sridhar, Cherry Creek High School in Greenwood Village, grade 11, for the project Optimization of a Novel Process of Removal of Arsenic Residues from Drinking Water Treatment Sludge. Second place went to Alex Woods, Fairview High School in Boulder, grade 10, for the project Real-time Calculation of the Rocket Roll Attitude Using the On-Board Video Camera. The first place Senior Division team project was Graham Anderson & Shervin Rahimpour, Palmer High School in Colorado Springs, grade 10 & 11 respectively, for the project Is Free Radical Induced Cell Membrane Destruction Leading to Heart Disease? Awarded third place for best individual project and winner of an all-expense paid trip to observe at the Intel ISEF was Craig Wright, Woodlin School in Woodrow, grade 12, for the project Surface Fabrication and Characterization for DNA-Based Biosensors.

The winner of the Ralph F. Desch Memorial Technical Writing Award was Meredith MacGregor from Fairview High School in Boulder, grade 9, for the project Centigrade 4.0: Turbulent Penetrative Convection in Chilled Water.

The winner of the Senior Division Student Choice Award was Adam Sidman, Palmer High School in Palmer High School, grade 10, for the project Camera Stabilization. The Junior Division Student Choice winner was Timothy Schneider, Miller Middle School in Durango, grade 8, for the project Micropower - Microchips in Miniature Robotics and Other Projects.

The winner of the Poster Art Contest was Christina O'Connell, Hotchkiss High School in Hotchkiss.

The winner of the CSEF Teacher of the Year Award was Nancy Gettman of Woodlin School in Woodrow. Ms. Gettman received a $3,000 grant to use towards scientific research in her classroom and school.

All of the 1st and 2nd place Junior Division category winners were nominated for the Discovery Channel Young Scientist Challenge. This year, three Colorado students were named as Semi-Finalists.

See the complete list of CSEF Grand Award winners, Special Award winners, and Scholarship winners or print an official 2004 Press Release.

Copyright Colorado State Science Fair, Inc. All rights reserved.
Last modified 10/24/16